Dottie Daniels 101: A Short Introduction

wordpress pictures
Greetings! It’s nice to finally blog on WordPress.

(I think?)

The idea of blogging seems pretty easy although at this moment I’d say I know very little about managing one. WordPress states that over 100,000 blogs are created everyday on this site. It seems everyone, especially those involved in any segment of writing uses blogging or reads someone else’s blog. After using Google to track down relevant posts about it, I’ve walked away with the notion that blogging is the equivalent of breathing for most writers as we have to step beyond their own works and use this tool to connect with readers globally. Learned theme: I am a writer so I must engage in this too :). How cool is that?

About me

I reside in the now warmer-than-last-month city of Minneapolis. Having been indoors for the last 6 months writing is going to be a challenge the next few weeks. In fact, doing anything indoors is going to be a challenge when the warmth draws you outside and away from a computer screen like a gourmet dinner for someone who’s been on a two day fast.

After a brain aneurysm rupture in 2006 and the subsequent many months of recovery, I set a goal of writing a book. Originally the goal was one fiction and one nonfiction of any genre. I’ll tell you this, after struggling with short term memory loss, regaining it is the best present- ever. Everyone including one of my doctors naturally assumed the first thing I’d want to write about would be centered around surviving that horrible ordeal. Although I’m aware how lucky I am- for now, I don’t want to write about that. It’s something I’d want to address in literary form at a later time. I ended up writing about something fictionally opposite: zombies!

At the time I started writing- it was out of stress relief. I was taking a full course load including biology and chemistry during the day at a local private college and working full time overnights at my current place of employment. In between trying to keep up on laundry and regular meals and sleeping… you get the picture. Sometimes beautiful things can emerge from chaos. I look back at when I started writing my first novel and I wonder how I did it?

The best answer to that now would be because writing is one of the things a person has total control over. As the story grows in length and in detail, one can’t help but fall in love with the whole process and become entwined with the development and storyline. In a writer’s mind characters become real people. As a writer I wanted people to connect and believe in the story- just as if I were describing real events. It’s a passion and I can only tell others who don’t write because they are apprehensive- just give it a try and stick with it for a while. Heck, blog about it!

While I’ll definitely talk plenty about my first novel creation later- for now I tell you it’s called Affliction and is being published by DonnaInk Publications, L.L.C this coming summer. As for my free time activities- I enjoy reading, traveling and enjoying whatever that’s good around me. Blogging is one of the things I want to conquer. Through this, I hope to cover different topics in the literary world, keep readers up to date about my own writing ventures and perhaps learn a few new things along the way. 🙂

One response to “Dottie Daniels 101: A Short Introduction

Leave a Reply

