It’s Late and I’m Thinking about Zombies…

These guys are waiting for you to become their fans. Photo courtesy of Google images

These guys are waiting for you to become their fans. Photo courtesy of Google images

Hey.

It’s getting late (well, not too late-yet) and although my work week has been stressful- I’ve been anxious to get home most nights to blog and read blogs (that’s good right? yeah!). This is a little different from the usual as I usually want to get home to write more of the 2nd novel I’ve been working on the last few months in my precious spare time.

Although my 1st novel Affliction (www.donnaink.org) is a zombie title, I’ve come across many friends and co-workers that have been supportive of my journey to ‘authorship’ and they said they’ll gladly purchase and read my book once it’s out- even though they aren’t truly dedicated fans of the genre. That’s totally nice of them! I’ll admit- I want a little more, though. After reading Affliction, I want them to have become fans of the genre!

As a first-time novelist I already feel honored to be where I am (which isn’t as far as I’d like to go, btw). My inspirational advice is that I never purposefully set out to write zombie-genre literature so I’ ll warn you,with having an open mind in your writing- you never know what you’re going to come up with! I just wanted to write a fictional story that was entertaining and this is what resulted. This is evident the first 5 pages of my fictional story. This kind of writing and research along with the spin I wanted to put on it was what kept me writing in the first place. I don’t think I could’ve done it with a Romance or Steampunk or a Non-Fiction subject. I admire those genres but they aren’t a part of me as a writer- yet.

I’m still getting used to even calling myself a writer after 5 years.

The zombie genre requires a different creative mindset, a sort of ‘minimalist-desperation, sans the lust’ most of the time. However- it should still spark the primal senses within your characters. Whereas the endgame is passion and happiness in the Romance genre, the Zombie Apocalypse endgame is survival. Whereas in the Crime Thrillers genre the endgame is to catch the one or perhaps a few bad guys, the zombie apocalypse goal is always survival. The zombie apocalypse can carry some of the other elements commonly found in other genres but always- survival, especially of humanity is the overwhelming goal. In my opinion, that burden should be felt from page to page while reading.

I wasn’t quite the zombie aficionado years before- I’d seen my share of the better-recognized zombie films (see my previous posts/recommendations) but you can best bet I’m full on the bandwagon for good reading/movie watching in regards to the subject after writing my own.

Again, my goal for Affliction is that after reading it- you’ll be more interested in the zombie craze too! It’s not necessarily the crazy-survivalist thinking that you want to avoid but rather entertainment based on the emphasis of certain skills!

Tis the season!

Photo courtesy of Google images

Photo courtesy of Google images

8 responses to “It’s Late and I’m Thinking about Zombies…

  1. Thanks. I’m actually working on my first novel and it’s hard for me to grasp that Im becoming an author. Im not the zombie reading type but Im opened to give it a try. I’m trying to learn how to balance my time between blogging and working on my novel. Feel free to give me some advice. Thanks again!

  2. Oooh, zombie genre. 🙂 I have never read it, but I’m willing to give it a try! What’s your second book about? I loved this post! Even though you only spoke about your books, it was still intriguing 🙂

    • Glad to hear you’ll give the zombie apocalypse a try! My second book is the sequel to Affliction as there was way too much storyline for just one book! Blessings to you for your kind words!

  3. I, for one, LOVE all things zombie-related. So I am very excited to get a glimpse of this book when it’s done and hopefully order it online! What made you decide on this particular genre and storyline?

    P.S. I think it’s great that you’ve decided to regard yourself as a writer. Even if it IS still strange after 5 years!

    I think many artists are in some ways “ashamed” or embarrassed to do so because the lines are so blurred and there’s a bit of a double standard. People who create artwork such as paintings and sculptures call themselves artists, regardless of whether or not their work has ever been purchased or viewed in a gallery. People who record a couple of songs on their laptops to post on YouTube or SoundCloud, call themselves singers/musicians. People who take dance classes even recreationally but consistently or audition for dance companies vigorously, call themselves dancers, regardless of whether or not they’ve ever booked a gig.

    But at what point can a person tell people they are a “writer”? Do you have to have been doing it for a certain length of time? Why is it that regardless of whether you’ve written countless numbers of novellas and poems for yourself, there still may be that feeling of unease lingering about calling yourself a writer because people have this notion that it isn’t ‘validated’ until you’ve had something published. Why is it that unless I’ve been on a big network TV show or feature film, that I feel embarrassed to call myself an actor even though I train just as much and my passion is just as great as any other “real” actor?

    So good on you for knowing who you are, what you want to do and not being afraid to say so.

    Sorry for the ramble, you may disagree with what I’ve written or this may not even apply to you at all. But this was my 2 cents.

    xxo Carly
    http://www.sundaylovexo.com

    • MissCarly- I love what you have to say on this subject as I think you’re 100% correct. You may ramble in my comments as much as you’d like because guess what?- I tend to do the same thing!
      Thanks for your admiration and fan-ship of the zombie genre!
      I stumbled upon writing in this subject simply because after I survived a brain aneurysm and struggled with memory loss I wanted to write a good story. Zombies are what manifested within the first few pages.
      I’ll be alerting just about everyone I know once I get a release date from my publisher.
      Trust me, I’ll keep you posted! 🙂

  4. Pingback: It’s Late and I’m Thinking about Zombies… | The Write Perspective

Leave a Reply

