And My Favorite Zombie Horror Movie Producer/Director Is…

An accomplished Mr. Romero. Photo courtesy of Google images.

An accomplished Mr. Romero. Photo courtesy of Google images.

Hey.

You guessed it probably within the first few tries… I know it’s technically unfair to call out just one- seeing how there are quite a few good one out there. For this blog though, I’ll do just that. I promise I’ll cover others in the very near future. 🙂 I love good zombie movies.

George C. Romero. Why? because in the order I watched horror movies and got exposure to the genre I saw numerous films of his throughout the years. I saw the quality, dedication and the hard work he put into his scripts and the love of the fans that followed which says bluntly, this man is indeed innovative and a trailblazer for modern horror films overall. Everyone interested in making such films should use Mr. Romero as the standard.

This is not to exclude the work of others. Greg Nicotero- famously known for his special effects role in The Walking Dead has my attention at all times, Lucio Fulci’s City of the Dead will definitely satisfy ‘a dead craving’ among many others. For me, it’s just that Romero’s work defines longevity and I’m sure other directors and producers of the awesome horror genre look to this guy and strive to be like him, be it in secret or not. My dream is and seriously I feel like this would be the equivalent to making passionate love, would be for Romero to direct not one, but a few episodes of AMC’s hottest show The Walking Dead. I scratch my head in wonder at how he chooses to pass this opportunity up- for the sake of his fans just because he feels it’s different than he’d imagined. C’mon Mr. Romero, I’d love nothing more than to see you behind the camera on that set!

What's left of this group would probably be honored to be directed by Mr. Romero. Photo courtesy of Google images.

What’s left of this group would probably be honored to be directed by Mr. Romero. Photo courtesy of Google images.

I’ll continue to watch tons of horror movies, especially zombie films, regardless of who’s behind the camera. If there is a film you’d recommend, by all means- let me know! We’re heading into October- the season of Halloween and there’s not a more fitting time for it all! For now, I’ll be waiting for Michael Myer’s and Jason Voorhees to make their return. By the way, I consider Jason to be zombie-like because technically, he did die (by drowning) and then returns to kill others. What do you think? Let me know!

One response to “And My Favorite Zombie Horror Movie Producer/Director Is…

Leave a Reply

