What Would it Take For You to Be Published?

Hey.

An opinion request from me. I’ve met all kinds of people here on WordPress. Of course you’re here to blog but I know there are quite a few who aspire to be published one day, be it self or the traditional route. If you’re in the middle of your project or just done with one I’d love to know what your plans are. I’ve met many people who’ve done things either way and they all have produced quality writing to be proud of.

There are a few people I’ve met who write for fun. I’d love to know what it would take for you too to make the decision to publish your work.

This is just for my own curiosity. I have a publisher and have thought about self-publishing as a possibility before I signed on with someone. For my zombie-thriller Affliction, it became eventual that I was just wanting it to be read by any who enjoys the genre. I started off writing for ‘fun’ as an escape from a hectic full time job and full time college courses. For me, it was finally something I had complete control of. Once I started letting friends read it and they enjoyed every chapter as I wrote it, after it was complete- it was then I decided to push forward to find an agent or publisher. It took about 13 queries before someone said ‘yes’. My advice to any one early in my writing career would be that it’s truly a crap- shoot to find an agent or publisher. I would also say that rejection is not the judge of your writing capabilities- plain and simple.

Of course I’ll expand more into how I signed with a publisher at a later time but I really want to hear from you. What would it take?

21 responses to “What Would it Take For You to Be Published?

  1. My book started on a series of notebooks, I hand wrote my first draft throughout my last year of high school in about 12 200 page notebooks in between classes (my handwriting is awful and giant, but still that’s a lot of writing). I spent a lot of time since then working on it… It’s been eight years (on and off) of working on it now. It’s the most time and effort I’ve put into anything. I want to publish it because I think that all this work would be wasted if I just kept the final product to myself. Sharing is caring after all. 🙂

      • My book is set in this medieval style world and it’s mostly about this girl who escapes after her town is destroyed and needs to take care of her little sister somehow. She has a run in with this clan of assassins and ends up being taken in by them and then training to become one herself. Then some stuff happens she meets some more protagonists and the world eventually needs saving, Y’know, that kind of thing. lol

      • I rarely pick up stories on medieval times- BUT this storyline sounds very interesting. I could pick up the appeal of the storyline with your description just now. Please do let us all know its publication process. I would buy. 🙂

      • Thanks. That’s a really good thing to hear, especially when I know I’m inserting myself into such a popular genre. Lots of competition around and such. I surely intend to keep my blog updated on my progress when time comes to pursue publishing. Hopefully in a few months if I can keep to my schedule. 🙂

  2. I’m going to start querying agent this coming week. I committed to writing my book back in 2007, but it took several years of procrastination and a few false starts before finally starting my first draft in early 2012.

    Once I got the notion to write the book, I knew I wanted to try to get a traditional publisher. What i didn’t know at the time was how many different hoops I’d need to jump through in trying to do that.

    For now, I’m just excited to finally be one step closer to my goal.

    • Yes, I agree- if I’d known everything I had to do in the beginning- I might’ve been discouraged as well. What’s your book about? Jumping through the hoops is worth it (after a certain successful point) and I do believe persistence pays off. Its one hell of a rollercoaster ride! Keep us posted on your journey, please!

  3. I’ve already made the decision to pursue being published. I have a short story entered in a contest, about 25,000 words left on the first draft of my horror novel, a more ‘serious’ novel started, and ideas for two others perking in my head. It really is what I want to do with the rest of my life.

    • Denise I hope you get very positive reviews on your short story. Winning would be awesome- Good luck to you! I’ve said the exact same thing in regards to my new career in writing. If that’s all I get to do- then so be it! Not a waste of life at all in my ‘book’. lol

  4. I’ve submitted my comics to one syndicate, but never heard back. I want to try another, but to be honest, I’m a little afraid they might say yes and I’m not sure I’m ready for that commitment. I guess it is both exciting and scary.

    • Comics are great these days- they are gaining back the momentum they had in the 60’s, 70’s & 80’s. I hope you keep trying and get picked up by someone soon! A co-worker of mine writes comics for fun. It’s all a scary and exciting journey, isn’t it?

  5. I just made the decision that someday I will be published, no matter what it takes; even if it’s self-publishing. Wanting to complete that goal is enough for me to know that sooner or later I will figure out a way to accomplish it.

    • I hope you do! What kind of genre do you write about? I think the stigma of self publishing is fading away (thankfully). There are plenty of good writers out there that have gone either path. Building your brand on sites like WP and others will guarantee a large ‘readership’ who’ll gladly support your efforts no matter who you’re signed with (or not). Book selling to me is about as competitive as buying toilet tissue on many levels. Along with quality writing, people just need to know you and your stories exist.

      • The story I am working on will likely be geared towards young adults. That’s the genre I would like to write in. I definitely like fiction but since I’ve been blogging I have been attracted to the concept of writing about real life stuff in the form of creative writing non-fiction.
        Starting a blog and building on audience on wordpress was my first step in my goal towards getting published. 🙂

      • That’s nice to hear! Good luck to you- I think you’ll be able to write for that audience because you write well. If there’s ever anything I can do to help- you needn’t hesitate! 🙂

  6. I had a book published a long time ago and then the line I wrote for was discontinued. I stopped writing because life got in the way. I just finished another book and started querying agents. It’s such an difficult process I’m not totally sure I’ll make it. I love the writing. It’s the querying and marketing I’m not in love with. I started my blog because I know I need an on-line presence, and I’m enjoying it, but I feel like all the extra stuff just takes time away from the writing.

  7. I always wanted to become an published author. My problem is producing the product. I have so many plans and ideas but… real world life. When coming home from a 10 hour shift i just dont have the motivation left. But when i do seriously start writing again, i hope for a traditional publisher but i always figured i would do amazon’s kindle publishing for smaller short works to build a following and get my name out while i pursue an agent and all that.

    • I say do it as often and as soon as you can anyways. The process of writing for me, was for myself only. It kept my sanity on my worst days. Once I was finished with this particular story it became something for everyone else to enjoy. I understand there’s only so many hours in the day (believe me) but similar to getting a pedicure or buying yourself something. Writing works wonders for the soul. I’d love to see what you create- write please, for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

