Why I Love the U.K.

Hey.

I know I’ve never actually been to the U.K before but lately I’ve had some serious admiration and envy over that section of land on Earth. It’s a place that although I’ve yet to breathe the air there I’m increasingly more and more satisfied with the products and people that emerge from there. Here are just a few of the many reasons why I love people and things that originate from that locale:

1) Elemis Skin Care

I read from their website that the company is the leading British spa and skincare brand. I’ve been using these higher end products now for almost a year and though my skin was youthful to begin with, it’s now more radiant and tolerable than ever before (bye-bye breakouts). I’m not one to splurge on expensive items (which these aren’t terribly expensive- thank God) except for when they are worth the price. Whenever you’re through with being temporarily satisfied with the more available commercial skin care lines- give these guys a try and see don’t you notice a difference right away. They don’t test on animals either, extra bonus. You can check the out the Elemis brand here and thank me later if you decide to purchase 🙂

Photo courtesy of Google images.

Photo courtesy of Google images.

2) Idris Elba

Yeah, so when did we ever thank a whole country/region for the emergence of one man? Today! Yes, I’ve been ever so impressed by the acting skills of this handsome gentlemen for quite a while now. He’s been in a ton of movies, has played various characters and is the star of a hot British television show, Luther. The interviews I’ve seen featuring him also suggest he’s ever so humble, funny and the kind of guy you could hang out with and totally have the best of times. The fact that he’s tall, dark and handsome is just icing on a rather tasty cake, wouldn’t you agree? Oh Idris, won’t you be my best friend? There are quite a few British actors and actresses  that I couldn’t imagine our American television viewing experience without. Daniel Craig, Anthony Hopkins, Kate Beckinsale, Ben Kingsley and a host of others! Thanks guys and ladies!

Ahem, back to my article folks. Gotta love that smile! Photo courtesy of Google images. Perfect.

Ahem, back to my article folks. Gotta love that smile! Photo courtesy of Google images. Perfect.

3) EastEnders

I stopped watching soap operas a long time ago. Too much mundane predictability was happening between the characters. The storylines were unconvincing- plain and simple. One day years ago my mother and I were watching public television (perhaps waiting for Antiques Roadshow to come on) and we caught on to a lovely English drama called EastEnders. We fell in love with it and now have it scheduled to record on the DVR. It comes on in our area at 11pm. We watch it every Friday. Love, love, love the characters there.

These guys make my Friday nights! Photo courtesy of Google images.

These guys make my Friday nights! Photo courtesy of Google images.

In any event, I could probably continue on with my list of affections for the people and products related to the U.K. for much longer but I’m sure you get the picture.

Because of these and others, I’m even more eager to physically step into the territory and get the true British experience. Sure, I’m American- I have no qualms about the culture or the history of relations between our two countries, besides have you ever had a British friend? They are the best! If you have a favorite British product/person please do comment! Until then, Cheers! 🙂

26 responses to “Why I Love the U.K.

  1. ‘Oh Idris, won’t you be my best friend?’ Funny! That’s the prayer of my friends and I.To be successful and humble makes him the perfect person.
    I love U.K for their musicians too because many of them sing songs from the heart that you can totally relate to.And the accent is a plus.Cheers to the U.K!

    • Yes! You got that right! I totally meant to include Sam Smith (who’s voice descends from angels), Adele and quite a few others. Musically to an American, they are our brothers and sisters. Love this!

      • Sam Smith’s voice makes me want to sit down in a field and stare at the sun as it sets.And Adele’s songs are full of raw emotion,its like you are feeling whatever she is singing about with her.They are just great!

  2. As a Brit I love this post. We do have much going for our little Isle although probably if I was going to pick my top three things it wouldn’t include any of the above (well possibly Idris). I guess my top three things would also be the music, Shaun of the Dead (which if you haven’t seen as a zombie enthusiast I would definitely recommend) and bacon (I know that bacon isn’t really a British thing but I’m now living in Switzerland and they just don’t get it – pancetta is nice but it’s not bacon!)

  3. The sun just left our little island for its annual six-month holiday. Every now and then its rays might just manage to peek through the cloudbase tantalisingly for a few moments but from that distance it’s pretty weak! I’m looking forward to spring when it comes back a little closer. Hopefully.
    And as for EastEnders, nonononoNONONO!!!! It’s the most depressing miserable bloody programme ever! Please don’t let it poison you into thinking that life is actually THAT bad over here, even without the sun! 🙂

    • I know what you mean! It’s so depressing to have the sun set at 5pm verus being spolied by a 9pm departure in the summer months. It’s extra cruel here in Minnesota too, with the breathtaking cold and snow!

  4. Yes! Go there and get the physical experience!
    I went to the UK a couple of years ago, and I particularly loved London, it was amazing. Hyde Park is beautiful and free, the Tower Bridge is picturesque, there is so much more to see and do, just go there and write your own ‘history’ with the place, it is stunning.

    • Sounds like you had a wonderful time! I will definitely plan a trip there- sooner rather than later! Will you be going back again soon? Is there anything you’d like to see that you didn’t get to before?

  5. Yes, I’m another vicarious lover of all things British. I’m fairly sure I was British in my past life. I even have the straight faced dry humor…

    Entertaining article!

    I love: Tea, scones, fish n chips, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Downtown Abbey, Upstairs Downstairs, Jeffrey Archer, HP sauce, The Lillie Langhtry miniseries, Monty python, Fawlty Towers… Aaaaaand pretty much anything else except for detective shows. I really could go on but this is your blog and my blog doesn’t even really encompass this topic so that will be all. 😉

    • I say blog about it! I know I definitely didn’t get to cover all of my loves for the place! Indeed, we were both probably British at one time in the history of this Earth! 🙂 Lol @ “the straight faced dry humor!”

Leave a Reply

