Poetry Post

Hey.

I’ve been reading a ton of poetry posted here as well as on other sites. I love throwing poems in my reading mix whenever I don’t have the time or desire to read something that’s more than a few pages long at the time. Poetry of course tends to tell a story very quickly and for this, I’m grateful. I’d like to think most writers have some poetry of their own without officially adding ‘poet’ to their writing resumes.

Thanks to a creative writing class I took last year (which I enjoyed) I was able to shake out few pieces of my own. I’d like to share one with you if you aren’t too allergic to sappy stuff. Seriously, at the time I’d just went through a break-up from which I thought we’d live happily ever after. Our relationship was only a few months long but I’d known of him since I was in high school long ago. Anyways, I’m completely over him and in fact, I’m able to find this poem funny now.

We cannot laugh at others if we’re unable to laugh at ourselves, right?

Okay, no offense to anyone going through a break-up right now. I hope you too can laugh (and love again) soon. 3, 2, 1:

THE ACHE

To this day, he still sits in my once-very broken heart.

Probably in one of my main arteries, like bad cholesterol.

Acting up only so often when I see something,

Or hear something,

Or smell something.

Reminiscent of those days with him.

 

I’d easily answer, “I’m over him,” if you ask.

Never though is it easy to get a series of experiences

Out of one’s mind,

Out of one’s artery.

Tried to cry him out many times

Nearly coughed up my lung instead.

In my heart, there he sits, unaffected

waiting patiently in a crevice

until I was alone or until I see another couple.

Hand in hand. And it starts again.

 

No amount of happy, no prescription

Neither dream, nor reality can heal this

It’s been months- I’m questioning time’s ability

of what it’s supposed to do

Heal my heart, fade him

to the backdrop where every heartache is supposed to go.

In the meanwhile, perk up.

Try not to show signs of wear.

Hope that attack on my heart does not catch up with me.

Yeah, painful isn’t it? I hope all of your violins didn’t jump out of their cases and start playing all by themselves. I did enjoy creating this even though at the time it was a dreadful experience. Are there any poems or short stories that you’ve written that you’d like to share? If so, go ahead and blog about them and comment that you’ve done so- I’d love to have a look at them. 🙂

9 responses to “Poetry Post

  1. I did like your poem! You handled your heart break with a dash of humor. But, what made me laugh was the comment about the violins jumping out of their cases!

  2. I really liked this, hit me right in the feels, but also got a chuckle out of me. Loved the ‘like bad cholesterol’. Best line ever. lol

    And as a matter of fact I just posted a short something I wrote today, if you’re interested in looking it over. It’s actually a small piece of mythology that may or not go into my roleplay project. 🙂

  3. Well there were a couple of parts of the poem (cholesterol, lung) that made me laugh! At least in heartbreak you didn’t lose your sense of humour!
    Yes, I love poetry but I only just discovered how fulfilling it can be to write it, so I have only posted one poem so far on my blog. I tried rhyme even though they tell beginners to stay away from it, oh well!
    Thanks for sharing yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

