Racism and the Media in Society (From My POV)

Hey.

Normally I don’t care to elaborate on such a controversial topic because anyone is almost sure to be offended by any point-of-view statements. Not that I’m trying to be a naïve little rainbow here- I’m just anti-stress when it comes to my blog. Anything I say here about it may come back to haunt me but rest assured, I’m not much of a controversial person. I am not deeply bothered by this enormous dark cloud that seems to be given new life every few months or so- thanks to the media.

I do have my rights to my own opinion. I do not speak for every person of color (any color). I’m cool with that and as far as I’m concerned if you’re still reading this you’re interested in my opinion alone.

Here it is…

I’m quite tired of the subject. Most times when I’m forced to hear about things race related I roll my eyes because I know it is a complete waste of my time. I know I’m forced because nowadays thanks to the media’s attempt to sensationalize anything to get more viewers, they look to promote these racial incidents so you can tune in. There, I said it.

Do I believe racism still exists? Of course I do. I’ve experienced it myself at several points during the life I’ve lived. The way things go about it all on a national level, the way things are publicized in my opinion often throws gasoline versus water to the fire. Of course I’m aware of the nastiness that has occurred from pretty much the second any person of color has encountered the ‘white’ man since he set foot on the North American continent. Am I disgruntled about it? Sure. To an extent that only says if the majority of us are ready to move on- so am I. If only a few people are still stuck in a fruitless pattern of thinking why should the rest of us be forced to live in the depths of their despair?

I tend to focus and shift my perspective toward the future. I know that the black kid being gunned down by a non black (or vice versa) constitutes a racial uproar but I have to ask if the uproar is going to promote a movement toward a better interaction within all the racial makeups of the involved parties or will it tear it down further? I don’t argue that we should simply forgive and forget. I argue the suggestion that intelligent discussion needs to occur. In my opinion this cannot happen in the heat of a racially-subjected trial or crime. My friends, at that time the media wants division. They need it for their ratings. They need us to become extra sensitive and extra defensive so that we can continue to tune in and listen to their often biased reporting. They’ll state facts but it won’t be all of them.  That’s the way reporting for ratings goes.

Let’s upgrade our thinking.

In my opinion improving race relations calls for a much smaller level of communication, a smaller movement among each individual that’s not unlike fixing your finances, or changing the way you shop because it’ll save money. One has to make a personal investment and strategize how to change their thought patterns on how to go about educating themselves about the different cultures that exist around  and how to better interact. I’m not just talking whites learning about blacks- I’m referring to a web of informational exchanges so that we can each gain perspective into the lives of the people who are different from us. Personally I’ve decided that as long as I can find some food I enjoy- that’ll be the basis for me to explore further about any culture. Food is good.

I can recall conversations with several of my non-black friends over the years. They were curious about different things as it relates to race relations- mostly about the perceived anger in the black community towards non- blacks. I was happy to share my opinion and while it isn’t the end all be all answer for every scenario, I was happy to at least have the discussion with them. Talking about it brings at least a minute amount of understanding, doesn’t it? That’s what I’m all for: responsible and mature discussion.

I bring this up primarily because the mayor of the city I live in (Minneapolis) was recently chastised for taking a photo posing with what could be perceived as a gang symbol (which is complete garbage and another attempt to sensationalize the subject of race relations between the city and its residents). You can read more about the story here.

Again, I have to ask whether the media truly helps or does more harm by investigating certain subjects to the death?

I invite you to responsibly chime in your opinion.

12 responses to “Racism and the Media in Society (From My POV)

  1. I agree. It seems that whenever there is an incident that occurs between people of different races (especially between minorities), the incident turns into a race verses race conflict. While perhaps it was a conflict fuelled by racism (because racism IS still alive in the world, although I would say it’s more generational and sectional rather than the same all across the board), most of the time I feel that it’s simply a conflict between people. Not Mexican verses African American. Not African American verses White. It’s Person verses person. Human nature verses human nature. And that’s the type of perspective, I think at least, that we should be looking at these situations with. Otherwise, we find ourselves completely entangled in a web of racial prejudices and ideologies without even understanding the real problem.

    • I agree. I believe racial assumptions about certain persons based on how they look (stereotyping) plays a big part in it all. Stereotypes aren’t always bad as psychology teaches us but we may inadvertently begin to unfairly change the way we act and behave toward individuals which starts a domino effect leading up to the so-called newsworthy event. Come to find out later the persons involved were much more than they were type-casted to be.

  2. Great post Dottie! 🙂 I do believe racism still exists. However, I feel like the media sometimes exaggerates the truth to get more ratings like you said. I think we as audiences should think twice and digest the information the media has given. Otherwise, it can blind our perspectives towards what really is which might result in creating more racism than ever.

    • Thanks for the reblog and thanks for your compliment. I do think there are plenty of people who feel the way we do about this subject- they’ve probably just given up on trying to convince others. As long as we live by example I suppose begging to bring about change borders on pointless.

  3. i came to US 40 years ago from the USSR and I hate racists of all colors. I am angry that media, some organizations and high profile people use race for enrichment or for getting more power.
    My wife had a heart attack in subway years ago and she is alive because a black man stopped a train. My friend’s granddaughter (white like milk) married a wonderful black man and they are very happy (they have a beautiful daughter). I worked for many years with people of different races from different countries and the vast majority of them were terrific people. Instead of talking about “race problems” our leaders should develop and implement ASAP measures to educate people, create good jobs, allow people to go from welfare to creative, dignified lives.

    • I couldn’t agree with you more, JF. Someone else mentioned how talking about racism in the manner we do actually promotes it. We could definitely use a major overhaul in our education and with our employers to minimize the spread and promotion of such hatred. Thank you for sharing your perspective as well!

    • Lol, about trying to get you upset about something! I agree- they do the same to me as well! They aren’t the least bit accurate with the weather so you know how much we can count on them for anything else.

  4. Very well said, Dottie. I wish the media would stop sensationalizing and start encouraging a dialogue. Unfortunately, I think we as readers, listeners and viewers are to blame as well because all too often we are drawn more to the sensational sound bites than to the thoughtful debates. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

