Christmas is Here, Why Am I Doing All the Work?

Image courtesy of Google Images.

Image courtesy of Google Images.

Hey.

In the words of my grandmother, “I’m not complaining, I’m just explaining,”

Why am I the one left to be made responsible we have all the materials we need for Christmas dinner? Suddenly, my slightly proactive attitude toward being prepared has gotten me nothing but additional responsibilities for making sure every ingredient we need is available and ready for production at the specified times this evening and tomorrow.

I am a runner. Similar to drug running but more from a food perspective. I have to make sure my customers are equally satisfied.

That means no matter how many times I’m required to retrieve something- I will:

– Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese in addition to the large bag we have and the Smoked Gouda, Gruyere and Aged/Vermont Cheddars we already have refrigerated. Sure, Macaroni and cheese can always use more…cheese.

– Soy Sauce and Honey for the recipe we have to make with the chicken thighs in addition to the ham balls all because someone in my family has forsaken pork (insert eyeroll for family members).

– Batteries for the TV remote/TV in the spare bedroom because of the battery’s belief of ‘if you don’t use it, you lose it’ and because although we have plenty of AA batteries, this one requires AAA batteries. How special?

– Any other slight ingredient or required seasoning because we know that if it isn’t there the dish doesn’t taste as good as it should.

So here’s to your trips to the store before they’ll closed and if so, your abilities to substitute! Again, Merry Christmas and enjoy the day, either way- it’s what memories are made of!

One response to “Christmas is Here, Why Am I Doing All the Work?

Leave a Reply

