The Best Advice and Sayings

Hey.

I don’t know what prompted me to write about this. I’m often able to recall pieces of advice whenever I know I’m about to encounter a stressful situation, or whenever a friend needs to hear something helpful to get them through the day. It’s kind of an additional upgrade to the ‘bullshit detector’ we’re born with (couldn’t find another more- fitting phrase).

Some days we find ourselves in the proverbial barn.

Facing reality and being able to deal with problems and hurdles without being stripped of your dignity and will takes time and sadly, real world experience and life is nothing if we do not hold on to the more light-shedding passages that stand the tests of time. While I’m not sure where these sayings come from, here’s a few I can immediately think of:

“All that glitters is not gold” – Definitely true. Unless you’re lucky enough to live in a tribe, deep in the Amazon forest that has forsaken electricity and every other modern amenity, you know we live in the days of instant gratification. There are a ton of people who just want to acquire ‘stuff’ because it’ll make them feel better than the rest of the world. These people are liars. They are in their own little competition- which they should be left to compete in by themselves. It doesn’t take a psychiatrist to see the root causes of their materialism and competitive lifestyle. Nine times out of ten they’ll have more problems and faults than you could write down in an hour-long session. People like this use their possessions as a distraction. They’ll make you feel like their relationships are the best things in the world when they’re just the opposite.

 “If you can lay next to them, I can walk past them” – I’ve said this many times throughout the last decade or so. It applies to relationships in general and is the best way to state your neutrality regarding the mates people acquire throughout the years. It’s how I feel about the match-ups of personalities, sexualities and most other aspects when it comes to couples. It’s not my business to give approval or reject anyone. If they make you happy- I’m happy. If not, then it’s totally your problem.

“No man is an island” – This one probably has the most meaning for me because I tend to be a loner (see my related posts). I love me some peace and quiet but beyond that I’ve come to realize that I can 100% depend on me. I’ve said before that I believe most writers are solitary people or have more solitary aspects of their personality. We need to be in our heads more than the general population, we utilize introspect and that requires nothing more than ourselves and our perception. This saying often resurfaces for me because I often forget to ask for help when I need it- for even the smallest of reasons.

“Hunting ain’t no fun when the rabbit’s got the gun” – This one’s all about the underdog achieving success with something. Sometimes others (the man, whomever) gets too comfortable with power or their authority. Most often this saying is for when the good guys get to prevail. Always makes people around me laugh whenever I say this one.

Those are just a couple that I can come up with that were shared with me from wise minds. Are there any wise sayings you live by that you’d like to share? Go ahead and comment!

Courtesy of Google images.

Courtesy of Google images.

2 responses to “The Best Advice and Sayings

Leave a Reply

