Reading (Editing) Feverishly

Photo courtesy of Google images- but I still would like to review your title!

Photo courtesy of Google images.

Hey.

I haven’t dropped off the planet- although I feel I have. I’ve been busy playing the editor role for the upcoming release of my first novel, Affliction. It’s been edited already but that last read-over before it’s sent off to the printer is the most important. My publisher, DonnaInk Publications L.L.C has already inquired about when I’ll be ready to release it. I told her it’d be by today and I’m trying to get it done by day’s end.

I’ll say this though, never have I come to both love and hate a piece of writing such as I have at this moment. For the last five years when I started writing Affliction, completed it and nearly completed its sequel, I’ve lived, breathed and cherished all aspects of it along with writing in general. As an editor (with my figurative ‘editor’ hat on) I’m able to see things I love and hate about it, magnified 10x. The spelling and grammar is not so much an issue in my opinion as it is making sure the flow is perfect to a first time reader. I’ve asked people to read it and they approve but the feedback of, “I like it”, “It’s fine,” “I loved it” doesn’t satiate the appetite of the nearly-rabid editor I’ve become in the last two weeks or so- specifically in the last four days.

I’ve had to transform from that: rabidity into normalcy.

I’ve discovered however, the cure for literary rabies is positive self-talk and frequent breaks to read the news which will remind you in your state of insanity- just how sane you really are. If that doesn’t work- try social media where there are zero literacy and grammatical rules. If you’ve truly given your work your best. It will survive. You will survive.

That’s all folks, enjoy your weekend!

Photo courtesy of Google images.

Photo courtesy of Google images.

2 responses to “Reading (Editing) Feverishly

Leave a Reply

