My Writing Muse is a Painful One

Image courtesy of Google images.

Image courtesy of Google images.

Hey.

I’m already wishing you all a pleasant and fun weekend because I know you need it. Seriously, the last 5 people I’ve talked to; co-workers, friends and random strangers- have all discussed in some form or another how they are being pulled in 20 different directions. Time to nix the superman/superwoman complex for a couple days, right?

I too, feel this way mostly all the time. Trying to be the perfect person (or the least conflict-ridden) in the form of daughter, girlfriend, employee, pet-owner and overall human being and frankly it’s a large slice of pie to digest. I’m not one to always take the highroad and avoid conflict but generally I’d say I do my best to use the power of intuition and foresight to predict behaviors and circumstances based on patterns- what I already know and have experienced with most things.

I’ll admit though, it wears me the hell out.

Fortunately, that brings me to the relevance of the title of this post, ‘My Writing Muse’

Unfortunately, I feel less motivation to write and pursue without the pains and strains of being generally over-worked. On a nice day, I feel like relaxing and enjoying a lesser amount of activity, whereas on the days I’m being pulled in several directions with an ongoing and ever-changing to-do list- it takes little effort to be creative and the desire to write or read literature is overwhelming to the point where I’m writing things on a scratch piece of paper to go in-depth later once I have the time.

It really is something to figure out.

The good news is, I got done reading over and editing my novel, Affliction for the last time and sent it back to my publisher last night. I was up until 430am reading because I wanted it done that day and no later. More to come on that, for sure. Again, I hope everyone of you has a great weekend and I hope this mid-August weekend puts a smile on your face.

Courtesy of Google images.

Courtesy of Google images.

One response to “My Writing Muse is a Painful One

  1. I hear you. I always seem to want to write and read when I know for sure that these things would only serve to keep me up until 3 a.m. so I can catch up on “wasted” time. It’s so confusing, the way writers’ minds are wired.

    Have a good weekend too!

Leave a Reply

