Affliction: What Can I Expect?

It is reality! (2015, image by D. Daniels)

It is reality! (2015, image by D. Daniels)

Hey.

It’s almost here and available for pre-order! The picture above is the proof-copy I received in the mail a few days ago. I was beyond elated and ready to shoot for the moon when I finally held it in my hands. If you’ve read this far, you may be wondering what you’ll be reading about if you decide to buy it. Of course I’m not going to tell you what happens here, but I’ll certainly give you the scoop just like I described to my family, friends and co-workers.

It’s about ZOMBIES.

You know, those undead things that have currently been on cable (AMC’s Fear the Walking Dead and The Walking Dead which premiers in October). Those things whose make-up and special effects in addition to its storyline gives some of the die hard fans something to talk about on Monday. It’s therapeutic, really. For one, that’s what my book- Affliction is about: Those undead things.

I wrote Affliction as if I were trying to buy it or sell it to myself, therefore…

You won’t have to read 20 or 30 pages in order for it to grab your attention. I absolutely pass on most books that take up more than one night of reading before I’m likely to say, “okay, I like this.” My time is too precious and I would’ve ended up bored writing it and thus wouldn’t have made it to the point where it’s something you can purchase today.

You can also expect elements from a lot of different genres. When I was originally trying to classify what Affliction was genre-wise I was never truly impressed with any one official, or trusted definition to label it with. Sure there’s zombies so of course, it’s horror but there’s also strong elements of mystery, drama and adventure along with science fiction. There’s a tiny bit of romance that’s not overly-vulgar but it fits into the storyline. I felt it was unfair to categorize it into only one or two genres. I mean seriously, I feel it could be as exclusionary as women’s literature based on just viewpoint alone but enough of everything else I mentioned that male zombie-aficionados should not feel weird reading it. It’s a little bit of everything.

Read Affliction and you’ll see why.

Lastly, I definitely leave room for more. Yes, Affliction will be the first in a series. Perhaps it’ll be three or four books, maybe only two. I’m still in the process of figuring our how in-depth I’d like the story to be. I’m 70% done with the 2nd (untitled) book but I promise the same multi genred-ness as before.

Ultimately my goals for Affliction is to please both the reader who is already familiar with the genre as well as to grab the attentions of a few new readers who otherwise wouldn’t bother with zombie literature in the first place. The fact that my lead character is a bi-racial woman may be the first that has ever occurred with the zombie market. One zombie novel grabbed my attention and turned me into a happy fan. I’m hoping to do the same for someone else. At the least bit, I want readers who are already fans of the genre to say, “It wasn’t a waste of time.” If I can get that much. I’ll be a happy author.

Affliction is available for pre-order and soon to be released at both my publisher’s website and Amazon. The links are below:

DonnaInk Publications, L.L.C    <——- (40% OFF LIST PRICE IS THE CURRENT PROMO!)

Amazon Bookstore

5 responses to “Affliction: What Can I Expect?

  1. You must be so excited to have the hard copy of your book in your hands! If your book is anything like your interesting and engaging blog writing I’m sure it’ll do well!

  2. Pingback: Affliction: What Can I Expect? | The Write Perspective

Leave a Reply

