Coffee

Typing in the word 'coffee' in Google search will get you 1.08 billion results. Photo courtesy of Google images.

Typing in the word ‘coffee’ in Google search will get you 1.08 billion results. Photo courtesy of Google images.

Hey.

I hate Sundays only because of Monday… Anyway…

It was Saturday morning when I became inspired about the above title. It was approximately 0715 and I was fresh from an 18-hour shift at the hospital I work for. I had surpassed the ‘tired’ mark at 0300 but now had my second wind and figured I’d stop at Byerlys, a local grocery store/deli and bring some breakfast home before I get the best sleep ever. It’s a quick drive, about three miles down a parkway, perhaps I’d even spot a deer or two… Hopefully they’d be in the grass and not trying to share the road with me.

Once I arrived, I saw there were a few cars parked. The air was chilly, my car’s thermometer read 43 degrees. There was also the strong scent in the air of something that I paid no attention to until I went inside the store. Byerlys also has a Big Bowl restaurant, a sushi deli, a hot foods deli (that was what I came for), cheese shop, bakery and a Caribou Coffee shop that had as many people in line waiting for coffee as there was in the entire rest of the building- employees included.

I walked over there to see if perhaps they weren’t giving it away for free. Nope. Just the usual $3-6 dollars for every item on the menu along with the growing line of patrons willing to pay for it. I turn around just in time to see 4 more chatty, middle-aged women in a group walk with energetic strides to get in line. What is so fascinating about coffee consumption? I ask only because coffee drinkers may be the most dedicated group of people alongside smokers and consumers of alcoholic beverages. I know many people belong to most if not all of those groups.

Some of my friends claim they can’t live without it. I see just as many memes on social media about the love for coffee as I see memes about exes and moms multi-tasking with children. When our department got a new manager last year, the first two things he bought for us was a microwave and a coffee maker. While I’m definitely not a morning person- eventually, I do wake up and join the rest of the world. Can people really be that bad off if they don’t consume it?

I quickly dish up my weighable items, feeling lonely at first because I’m the only one who seems to be thinking about French toast and sausage instead of this highly sought after beverage. I take a deep breath and take note of the mix of scents in the air as the smell of coffee saturates everything- even beating the steam from the savory bacon and turkey links back into their perspective pans.

Now I’m thinking about coffee, even though I don’t drink it.

I pay for my items and turn around to head back toward the door nearest to where I parked. The line at Caribou is now a few people less but there’s still more than 10 people waiting, ready to get their fix. I get to my car where I observe a few others walk inside the store. Guess where they went?

Some people do this everyday. Courtesy of Google images.

Some people do this everyday. Courtesy of Google images.

3 responses to “Coffee

  1. I love the smell of coffee and the taste when it is mixed with something else, like milk or chocolate. Especially in a Tiramisu. But, I don’t like it by itself. I do love the smell when you go in a coffee shop or into an aisle with the bags of coffee. Especially fresh ground. There is something comforting in the scent that brings up good memories. My grandma’s house at Christmas or the Cottage on a cool summer morning.

Leave a Reply

