Womenopause

Courtesy of Google images.

Courtesy of Google images.

Hey.

While reading random stories online, I stumbled across a wonderful article on menopause– which also begs me to wonder why they decided on calling it that. I know it has to do with the root word menses but for gender significance it has nothing to do with men, so why not call it womenopause? Anywho…

At 36, I’m not in the age range for this rite of passage for our older ladies. I’ve always worked with a few who mother nature decides to retire from natural motherhood and if you’re as lucky as I am, you’ve heard all about it- in detail. From what I’ve experienced, some women consider it the bane of their existence at the time while others, more quietly go about ‘the change’ without the dramatic showcase.

Estrogen, estrogen, estrogen, why did you forsake me?”

(hint: because your old butt should not carry and deliver any babies, anymore- not without IVF and many prescriptions)

To everything, there is a season.

I’m usually a good listener so for years, actually ever since I started working in retail when I was 16 and was around women of various ages, I’ve been included in these conversations simply because I’m a woman and for training purposes- that is, to prepare for that life ahead, I too should know what happens and hear some perspective. This also has happened in my 20s and 30s now, quite often!

My first job was working with the city at age 14 painting houses for low income families in the summer. We were divided into groups and often there was only one female painting with 5 or 6 males. Menopause definitely was never a topic.

I’m still at least a decade, possibly closer to two- from having to worrying about this but alas, between now and then some number of older ladies will be sure to fill me in even more before my time comes. Then, ‘the change’ will happen to me and suddenly I will transform into one of those women I had to listen to.

~~

Shout out to Opinionated Man who re-blogged my post, Taking a Stance. Check out his blog too! If you don’t know who he is- he’s like the biggest ‘force’ in WordPress as far as I’m concerned.

Courtesy of Google images.

Courtesy of Google images.

3 responses to “Womenopause

Leave a Reply

