Goddess/God For a Day

Courtesy of Google images.

Courtesy of Google images.

Hey.

I’ve been reading and watching a lot of the news lately. I was trying to be an adult and keep up on local, national and world events. If you know me personally you know how I abstain from watching news broadcasts in the same manner I’d use to avoid the plague. Most older people around me shake their index fingers at me in disagreement whenever they find out about this particular quality in me. “You need to know what’s going on around you.”, “An informed adult is a responsible one,” and so on, are the many things I’ve heard.

You don’t know what listening/watching to the news does to me.

I’m still responsible.

Hearing about different things- most which tend to be negative over even a short period of time does something to my psyche. I don’t know about you, but there’s something about finding out ‘things’ that has the power to place me in a state of slight paranoia. Hearing about downward financial trends, layoffs, crime- even if it has nothing to do with my region tends to subtract from my “at ease” state of mind. I decided that I do not like this feeling and prefer not to live in a complete bubble of joy but rather limit my intake of regular news-viewing. Where everyone else can go on about their day or evening- I worry still.

I’m the type of woman that watches something from PETA and won’t be able to eat meat products for a month.

Are you like this as well?

That brings me back to the title of this post. If you were granted “Goddess/God status” for only a day and could change a few things- how would you use that power? What changes would you make? I know individually we already possess these powers (on a smaller scale) and can in most cases make simple changes to enhance our lives. Possessing such a great power would mean more than saying, “I would end hunger,”  but rather it would mean perhaps enabling vegetables and other greenery to survive in more harsh conditions. Of course I’d want to put an end to cancer and crime but I’d also want to enhance the lives of what already works. If I were Goddess for a day I would spend time going around to appreciate the under-appreciated and yes there’d be a wide variety of vegetable/plants that would suddenly be able to grow and bear fruits in the Sahara. Perhaps I’d create a new species of plant whose leaves would grow plentiful and taste like steak- just to give the cows a break. Would I grant myself a new car? Nope. Instead, I’d grant the life of a million miles for my 12 year old truck- it only has 78,000 so I’d be good to go. 🙂

Go ahead, tell me what you’d do.

Courtesy of Google images.

Courtesy of Google images.

4 responses to “Goddess/God For a Day

  1. I would like to find a way to make people stop stressing and wasting time on small stuff. Also stop people from judging others harshly when they have no right in the first place and usually have no idea what the life of the other person might be like. I would like to have communities work together to survive and do away with the need for money. Hey, if I’m going to dream, it might as well be big, right? lol

  2. Ooh yes! Indeed, if we can calm the minds of those who criticize- live and let live, right? We are all on our journey in life and not at the same pace.

    I experienced quite a good deal of bartering last year on a virtual garage sale page in my community. It was great trading the products of one talent and skill for another instead of always relying on cash. A lovely notion.

Leave a comment